Tags

,


I have just started reading, “The Help,” and as I am reading about this older black woman caught up in the pains of southern America 50 years ago I found myself laughing.

Laughing at the fact that…. us girls? We’re all the same inside. We really are.  As women, we have been oppressed throughout history by every man possible. Not only have we been oppressed by men, we have oppressed our own sisters and worse yet… OURSELVES.

Anyway, that’s a whole different tangent and not really where I was going with this post, just something I noticed.

What I was noticing was character relate-ability (it’s not a word… so I just made it one). Back to the, we’re all just girls thing….

I am reading about this woman who seems very wise in her choices and the way she carries herself and yet here is this segment:

Memphis Minny get to singing on the radio how lean meat won’t fry, which is about how the love don’t last. Time to time, I think I might find myself another man, one from my church. Problem is, much as I love the Lord, churchgoing man never do all that much for me. Kind a man I like ain’t the kind that stays around when he done spending all you money. I made that mistake twenty years ago. When my husband Clyde left me for that no count hussy up on Farish Street, one they call Cocoa, I figured I better shut the door for good on that kind of business.  

I sat there after I read this line thinking about how the bad boy appeal works on so many of us women. How we fall for the daring types that will pin you to the wall and keep you guessing. Yet I have never understood why we like or pine after these types of men, when the good guys… we make our friends and never our mates? What is that?

Anyway, just a thought… random notes from Xanax 😉

