Tags

,


A week or two ago I was asked, “What do you want, and what are you doing about it?”

For a moment I felt like Peter Parker as his dying uncle tells him, “With great power, comes great responsibility.”

Not to sound incredibly cocky, but if you think about what I am going to say for a moment, you will understand what I mean isn’t cocky at all. Being born a white (going with white because apparently my ethnicity isn’t important enough to get a box on any of the forms) American female, puts me way up on the ladder…. and I mean that not in any way other than exactly how I said it. I have CHOICE.

Choice for where I want to live, what I want to drive, how much or how little schooling I want, how many children I want, where I want them to go to school, then down to even things I take for granted… I can have ANYTHING …. ANYTHING… that I want to have for dinner, lunch, breakfast… on any given day.  I have the ability to save money for anything I may want. I have the ability to work hard for that savings.

Wow. Too whom much is given, much is required. That line isn’t from Spiderman.

So what is it that I want? And what am I doing about it?

I have a degree in Communications/Public Relations, but I am not using it. I currently work for a contractor that does Missile Defense work for the government. It’s a great job, but it doesn’t speak to me. I need a job that moves me.

Jobs that move you… tend to not make you very much money. Strange how that works. Teachers/fire fighters/police officers/missionaries/most photographers-writers-starving artists…. most are never going to make 6 figures a year. So I have had to prioritize some things.

I have been consolidating my finances down, focusing my goals into timeframes. The job that I currently have is a blessing and will help me get the kids through school and off on their search for their own funding. In the mean time I have begun taking classes again. Classes through the American Red Cross for disaster relief assistance.

Meanwhile I will still be pursuing my writing. The book hasn’t fallen by the wayside and I have a dozen million or so more ideas.

But long-term… what I really want out of life… is IMPACT. Not just to be able to impact others… but to also have them impact me. I don’t need a white picket fence. What I need are daughters that realize who they are, what they’re worth, and who they can be. What I need is God to stay with me as He always has. The rest is all wants, and what am I doing about it?

I’m making a plan. I’m not waiting for tomorrow’s tomorrow to pass. Go. Live. Be.

Okay, I’m all through being inspiring, continue on with your regularly scheduled program…

